2019 Anna Valicek Award Finalists!

A total of 16 articles were submitted this year by candidates from all over the world.

At the end of a 10-week thorough evaluation process, the 2019 Anna Valicek Award Committee, constituted of 20 members, has selected the two finalists for the 2019 edition:

  • Keji Wei, Dartmouth College, Hanover, NH, USA: Airline Timetable Development and Fleet Assignment Incorporating Passenger Choice
  • Maximilian Pohl, Technical University of Munich, Germany: “Runway Scheduling during Winter Operations

As finalists, they will present their work at the upcoming AGIFORS Symposium, to be held in Seattle, WA, USA, between September 30th and October 4th, 2019. Then, the AGIFORS Council will select the winner of the 2019 Anna Valicek Award. 

Given the exceptional quality of the articles submitted this year, an Honorable Mention has been awarded to the following candidate to recognize their contribution:

  • Kai Wang, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong-Kong: “A Stochastic Integer Programming Approach to Air Traffic Scheduling and Operations

Finally, given the originality of the field of application of their research (Humanitarian Air Transportation), the Highlight for Societal Application has been awarded to the following candidate:

  • Stephan Niemansburg, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands: “Humanitarian Flight Optimization”

On behalf of AGIFORS, we wish to thank all the candidates for their submissions, testimony of the fruitful state of activity in the Operational Research & Analytics fields applied to Air Transportation.

Rules for the 2019 competition

Submissions are invited for the 2019 Anna Valicek graduate student paper award competition sponsored by the Airline Group of the International Federation of Operational Research Societies (AGIFORS).  

The Anna Valicek award recognizes original and innovative research in the application of operations research to airline and/or airline related business problems. The award honors the late Anna Valicek who served for many years as a member of the AGIFORS council. Up to two finalists will be selected and will receive air transportation, accommodations, and registration fees to attend the Annual Symposium to be held in Seattle, WA, USA, to present their work. The winner will be awarded a silver medal and a U.S. $2,500 prize. The other finalist will be awarded a bronze medal and a U.S. $1,000 prize.

The following criteria will be used in judging the candidate papers:

  • fundamental contribution and originality of the ideas or methods
  • practical importance or applicability in solving important real airline and/or airline related business problems
  • methodological content and appropriateness of methods used in analysis
  • clarity and excellence of the exposition

To be eligible, the applicant must:

  • have written the paper while pursuing a graduate degree, specifically either a master of science, master of business administration, or doctoral degree with a research thesis in the area of operations research, engineering systems, air transportation or management science 
  • be the major contributor of the paper
  • have been a registered student on or after June 1, 2018

To be considered, the following should be submitted:

  • a paper written in English with a maximum of 25,000 words. The document format must be Microsoft Word or Acrobat PDF
  • an abstract with a maximum of 300 words
  • the resume of the applicant

In addition, the applicant is expected (to be likely able) to attend the coming annual symposium to present her/his work. Interacting with the AGIFORS symposium participants is considered an important part of the Anna Valicek competition, and high priority will be given in selecting finalists who are able to commit to attending the Annual Symposium.

Submissions should be sent to valicekaward@agifors.org.

Submissions for the 2019 Anna Valicek Award will close on June 1st, 2019, 18:00 EDT, and this is a firm deadline.

Richard Cléaz-Savoyen

Vice President, AGIFORS

Chair, Anna Valicek Award Committee


Contact us

Address: AGIFORS President, 931 Monroe Drive,  Ste 102 #613, Atlanta, GA 30308

Phone: +1 (404) 385-6634

Email: president@agifors.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software